Trip cancelled! Now what?

Travel Insurance for Adrian - Roland in Vancou...

With the recent news reports about all the American Airlines flights being cancelled due to problems with seats not being properly bolted, I thought it would be good to remind everyone how important it is to purchase travel insurance.  As of the writing of this post there have been three flights cancelled so far, and I am not confident that the number will remain the same for long.  That means that hundreds of people had to be rescheduled on later flights.  I would wager to guess that many of those people were heading out for a vacation, which has now been interrupted through no fault of their own.

Would these people be able to  make a claim due to the problems with American Airlines?  You bet they would, and the insurance company would be glad to help them get rescheduled and make alternate plans so what is left of their vacation could be salvaged.  They can help with anything from the rental car to the baggage to the resort or cruise line.

Imagine if you had saved for a year or two to take that dream vacation.  You anticipated it for months and months, buying just the right clothes.  It wasn’t a cheap trip either, and you were pretty proud of yourself for being able to take your family to the places they have been dreaming about.  When you got to the airport you were told you’re flight was cancelled and you couldn’t get another flight until at least the next day.

Unfortunately, it happens way too often.  Be smart, buy travel insurance.  The small amount of money you pay for it is more than worth it if you ever have to make a claim.  Chances are you won’t have to, but why not be covered just in case.  As a travel agent, I recommend it to all my clients.  There are many great companies with many great policies and customer service.  If you have any questions about travel insurance, feel free to leave me a message.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wanderoneday
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 19:11:14

    This is a good idea. I’m flying AA in the Caribbean in a couple weeks – I’d hate to lose the chance for my tropical vacation!

    Reply

  2. AirportsMadeSimple
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 19:38:53

    I think it’s a good idea for a once-in-a-lifetime trip. For those who travel often for business, I don’t think it affects them much (other than not making that flight–then their company pays the price). I think the American pilots are making a statement–for other airlines, it’s not much of an issue. It’s not going to be a quick and easy fix for American (I mean, c’mon, those higher ups have to find an awesome exit strategy, right?!), so for those clients who are looking to you (and if I were in your shoes), I agree. 🙂

    Reply

    • Trisha
      Oct 02, 2012 @ 20:35:55

      Great comments! Keep them coming. If you are looking to buy travel insurance, please feel free to visit my travel site through the link on the sidebar and I can help you determine what policy would best suit your needs. As far as business travel, Travel Guard insurance has a policy specifically for this. The policy covers you for 365 days. Companies can purchase this policy for their employees or the employee can purchase it themselves. This ensures coverage for things like damaged or lost luggage, a stolen laptop and other things of this nature. An added benefit is the concierge service Travel Guard provides with the policy that gives directions, makes hotel or restaurant recommendations and so on.

      Reply

  3. John Decker
    Jun 03, 2013 @ 13:30:49

    I have been in many situations where my trips have been cancelled. Should trip cancellation plans such as purchasing travel insurance be a first priority?

    Reply

  4. Trisha
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 09:17:55

    Great question, John! Yes, I do believe travel insurance should be one of your first priorities when planning travel. You work hard to be able to go on vacation and you pay a lot of money for it. Travel insurance is just a small price to pay to ensure that it all does not go to waste in the event of illness or incident. I mostly sell Travel Guard insurance and insure me and my family with it as well. I hope this was helpful for your question.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 9,513 hits

Top Clicks

  • None
