Reflecting back on The Reflection

Boy! I’m glad the holidays are over!  Don’t get me wrong; I enjoy Christmas and New Year’s, but it can all be exhausting.  All the shopping, cooking, cleaning, traveling to see family, parties can take away from what we are really suppose to be reflecting on during the holidays.  Now that all the gifts are unwrapped, decorations are put away, and the schedule is back to normal, I can get back to one of my favorite things to do…. blogging about travel.

In December, I had the opportunity to do a Seminar at Sea with Celebrity on board their newest ship and the latest addition to the Solstice Class ships, The Reflection.  It was leaving out of Miami for the inaugural 7-day Caribbean cruise to the Eastern Caribbean with port stops at San Juan, St. Martin and St. Kitts.  On the sea days I would be in a few classes for the seminar, but would otherwise have plenty of free time to enjoy the ship and the port stops in between.

This was my first time sailing on a Celebrity ship.  I had heard great things about Celebrity so I was excited.  Besides, they were owned by the same company that owns my favorite line, Royal Caribbean so I knew it wouldn’t be all that bad.

Very interesting sculpture in the aft atrium.

Very interesting sculpture in the aft atrium.

One of the first things I enjoyed was the glass of champagne I was offered as I first stepped onto the ship.  They had servers with trays of champagne and mimosas for guests as they came on board as a welcome.  You could also get just a glass of orange juice if you wanted a drink on the lighter side.  Much like the announcement of every family as they step on board a Disney Cruise ship, this was something that made guests feel welcomed and invited.  Definitely a nice touch, Celebrity!

I also enjoyed many aspects of the ship.  This was the most beautiful ship I have been on to date.  I normally don’t like a contemporary look, but Celebrity has done it very well.  The decor was so simple, yet that made it so elegant.  The pool deck was large and airy with comfortable lounge chairs covered with a cushion.  No falling through the slates when your trying to get settled.  The solarium, where the pool had a glass roof had even nicer lounge chairs,  and every one had a fresh towel on it.  Here there was also a marvelous water wall and fountain that was lit at night.  I could sit and watch the water and lights dance for hours.

There were plenty of great places to hang out do whatever you chose from the Sky Bar with its magnificent views to Michael’s where they boast you can try over 50 brands of craft beers.  Cellar Masters has any wine you can imagine and you can get a glass 24 hours a day from their Enomatic wine dispensing machines.  My favorite place to hang out was the Martini Bar, which has a frosted bar top, and the bartenders can mix some tasty concoctions while giving you a fun show.

Our humble abode for the week.

Our humble abode for the week.

For a cruise stateroom, the bathroom was very nice.

For a cruise stateroom, the bathroom was very nice.

Our room was a balcony room and very nice.  This is where Celebrity definitely outshines some of the other lines.  The bathroom was almost twice as big as the other lines I have been on with plenty of storage for toiletries.  I had no problem with storage for our clothes and other things either.  The one feature I enjoyed most about the bathroom was the bar they added in the shower for ladies to put their foot on while shaving their legs.  Nice!

I was a bit disappointed in the service in the wait staff.  Our dining room servers were average, but there was no doting on us like you are used to from cruise ship dining room staff.  The buffet service was the worst I have ever seen on a ship.  Tables sat full of dirty dishes for hours and spills not being cleaned up.  I never had anyone come around offering coffee or juice like they always have done before.  I was very surprised at this as I have heard Celebrity’s being raved about by many.

All in all, it was a very enjoyable week aboard the Celebrity Reflection.  The disappointing service was by no means enough to deter me from ever sailing Celebrity again, and I look forward to a time when I can sail another Celebrity ship and compare it to this one.

What about you?  Have you sailed on Celebrity before?  What did you like or dislike?  Leave me a comment or email me at tmay@alovefortravel.com.  I would love to hear about it.

The Solarium pool with the awesome water wall and fountain.

The Solarium pool with the awesome water wall and fountain.

The Wine Enomatic... or what I like to call wine vending machine.

The Wine Enomatic… or what I like to call wine vending machine.

Bocce ball in the middle of the ocean.

Bocce ball in the middle of the ocean.

The fabulous Martini Bar.

The fabulous Martini Bar.

The shops of The Reflection.

The shops of The Reflection.

The dining room was simple but elegant with a two-story wine wall focal piece.

The dining room was simple but elegant with a two-story wine wall focal piece.

The bow atrium bar.

The bow atrium bar.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: I’m Baaack! | Lazy Girl
  2. Trackback: ALoveForTravel

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 9,633 hits
